Interview with fashion designer Kavitha Gutta

Adding extensions to Indian tradition with her flair for designing fabrics,
Kavitha Gutta has set herself as a brand every bride love to get decked up in her creations. Her designs are clear, defined and talk on how to look beautiful and chiselled while without leaving art and culture behind. Would like to know more about the ‘Golden Threads’ sewing fashion designer Kavitha Gutta? Let’s take a dive…
DSC01128

1. Who/what inspired you to dive into this field?

Being a mother of two adorable daughters I used to love decking them up like dolls and the habit of creating various designs for them now turned out into a label ‘Golden Threads’ which is satiating the hunger of thousands of women and young girls who inherently love wearing ethnic wear. Like the way I did to my daughters, my mother also used to dress me up so interestingly. I inspired by my mother for her creations and inspired by my daughters who helped me in bringing out designer skills that I have.

2. What is fashion in your perspective?

Making a person look beautiful is the essence of fashion. If a person is donning an attire and if it can able to accentuate her and show her elegance more than what she has then it exemplifies the real meaning of fashion.

3. What is your passion?

Designing and creating something that is clear at cut, design and color is my passion and I keep on working with a variety of designs that aren’t just satisfies me but gives customers higher levels of satisfaction.

4. What would one thing about a design catches your attention?

Perfection in the design, clarity in the work gives me an immense interest towards a particular creation to concentrate on.

5. What has been your biggest professional success?

Everyone has their own style of designing and my designs reflect the art and craft of India. Especially, the introduction of muggu/rangoli on sarees has been an achievement for me as it delighted many customers while helped in reviving the legacy of Indian culture.

6. Which skills make a fashion designer successful?

Filling up the fabric with lot of embroidery work or other designs doesn’t show the picture of clarity and neatness. Design has to be defined, upto the requirement and compelling apart from looking fuzzy, and the output of a clear cut design comes with perfection. So perfection is something every designer must look for and it is a key skill to create an indelible sartorial statement.

7. Where do you see yourself after 5 years?

Golden Threads has distinguished itself with the refreshing and vibrant creations that can make any bride look stunning and gorgeous in her wedding. In the impending years, I will add more irresistible creations to the repertoire and am envisioning to see myself as a top designer in India after 5 years.

8. Share something about your background

I came from a family where confidence is the main trait everyone do have and it is the same I received in an umpteenth amount that works perfect to face any tough situation in this competitive world.

9. What are your greatest strengths?

Support from my family is always immense. My husband and daughters have been supporting me throughout my journey of life and they are my greatest strengths.

10. Describe a typical day in your life as a fashion designer

Every day of mine is beautiful that never loses its shine with the bright colors from fabrics. I start my day keeping a muggu/rangoli infront of my house, without which my day is incomplete and then it’s all about my companions; vivid colors, variety of materials, oodles of designs and lots of creations. I love being doused by ensembles all day, all time.

DSC01114

DSC01112DSC01122DSC01113DSC01120DSC01121DSC01129DSC01133DSC01110DSC01119DSC01114DSC01117DSC01118DSC01115

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

